Horticulture faculty, students bring home honors

Auburn Department of Horticulture faculty members Jay Spiers and Joseph Kemble received recognition for outstanding contributions to the horticulture industry during the 2016 annual meeting of the American Society for Horticultural Science’s Southern Region in San Antonio in early February.

Spiers, associate professor, was awarded the 2016 J. Creighton Miller Jr. Distinguished Educator Award, which recognizes an educator who has had a distinguished and outstanding teaching career in horticultural science for 10 years or more. The award emphasizes excellence in undergraduate teaching.

Kemble, professor and extension horticulture specialist, was presented the 2016 Blue Ribbon Extension Communications Award for his publication “Southeastern U.S. 2015 Vegetable Crop Handbook.” The communications award recognizes outstanding contribution to the understanding of horticultural subjects reported in written, video, audio and electronic forms, including Internet-based formats.

In the J. Benton Storey Horticulture Judging Contest for students, Auburn’s team finished first in vegetable crops, second in both woody ornamentals and fruit and nut crops judging and second overall. Individually, Auburn senior Auston Holland had the highest overall score, followed by fellow senior Augusta Thurmond, who came in second overall. Students Caitlin Sweeney and Evie Smith claimed second- and third-place honors, respectively, in the judging of vegetable crops.

Related Articles