Auburn College of Ag, AAES honor top faculty, staff for 2013

AUBURN, Ala.—Fifteen Auburn University College of Agriculture/Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station scientists who collectively brought in more than $5.84 million in extramural research funding in 2013 were among the more than two dozen faculty and staff members honored during the recent college/AAES awards ceremony.

Faculty recognized for academic excellence were animal sciences associate professor Dale Coleman , the 2013 Dean’s Award for Advising Excellence winner, and horticulture professor Joe Eakes, recipient of the 2013 Dean’s Award for Teaching Excellence. Biosystems engineering associate professor John Fulton received the 2013 Excellence in Extension and Outreach Award among junior faculty members and Walt Prevatt , agricultural economics and rural sociology professor, received that award at the senior level.

The 2013 AAES Director’s Research Awards for Senior Faculty and Junior Faculty went to biosystems engineering professor and fisheries assistant professor Eric Peatman, respectively.

Peatman also was among the 14 Dean’s Grantsmanship Award recipients, recognized for bringing in grants totaling $250,000 or more during the year. Others included Patricia Curtis, Auburn University Food Systems Institute director; animal sciences associate professor Christy Bratcher; professor and department head Steve Taylor, professor Puneet Srivastava and associate professor Sushil Adhikari, all in biosystems engineering; entomology and plant pathology professors Henery Fadamiro, Joseph Kloepper, Kathy Lawrence and Edward Sikora; Sam Fowler, Water Resources Center director; and, from fisheries, aquaculture and aquatic sciences, professor Allen Davis; associate professors Terry Hanson and Carol Johnston; and assistant professors Bill Walton and Peatman .

Walton and two colleagues at the Marine Research and Extension Center in Dauphin Island—natural resources program manager F. Scott Rikard and advisor Glen Chaplin —were presented the 2013 Project Team Award for their collaborative efforts in developing an off-bottom oyster culture industry on Alabama’s Gulf Coast.

Curtis Jolly, professor of agricultural economics, was recognized as recipient of the 2013 High Impact Paper of the Year Award; biosystems engineering professor Kyung Yoo won the 2013 Richard L. Guthrie Award for Achievement in International Agriculture; and student services coordinator Amanda Martin received the 2013 Outstanding Commitment to Diversity Award.

Among staff members, winners of 2013 Employee of the Year Awards included Barney Wilborn, Lambert-Powell Meats Lab manager, in the professional/managerial category; Kathleen Dowdell, lead administrative assistant in the Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology, in the administrative support arena; L.B. Cox, ag technician at the E.V. Smith Research Center, in the service/maintenance/skilled worker division; and entomology and plant pathology research associate Jennifer Parker in the teaching/research/outreach professional category.

Each award recipient was presented a plaque and a cash award.


Contact Us

<p><a href="" target="_self">William Cahalin</a></p>

William Cahalin

William "Bill" Cahalin is the application systems analyst / webmaster for Auburn's College of Ag Comm-Marketing & Alabama Agricultural Experiment Station. An alumnus of Belmont University in Nashville, his work spans the music industry, publishing, aerospace, and enjoys lavish cocktail garnishes.

Recent News

Related Articles