Duke named ag economics and rural sociology department chair, professor

Joshua Duke, AERS Auburn department chair

By Maggie Smith / Sep 21, 2018 2:08:00 PM

Joshua Duke, currently professor of applied economics and statistics at the University of Delaware, will join the Auburn University College of Agriculture on March 1, 2019, as the Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology chair and professor.

College of Agriculture Dean Paul Patterson said Duke was selected for the position following a national search.

“I am excited about Dr. Duke joining our faculty as chair of the agricultural economics and rural sociology department,” Patterson said. “I know he will bring new ideas and valuable leadership skills to this role. I look forward to working with him to advance this department and the College of Agriculture.”

Duke said he is excited to join Auburn University and looks forward to helping students maximize their skill sets for today’s job market.

“I am honored to lead such an excellent department at an outstanding university,” Duke said. “The job will undoubtedly have many challenges, but I am stepping into a department that already enjoyed excellent past leadership, has top-notch faculty and staff, and has some of the best undergraduate and graduate programming I have ever seen.”

Duke is a Palo Alto, California, native who holds a doctorate in agricultural and applied economics with a minor in law from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, an M.S. in public policy analysis from the University of Rochester, and a bachelor’s in history and political science from the University of Vermont.

Duke joined the Delaware faculty in 1998. In addition to his position in Delaware’s agricultural college, he has joint appointments in two other colleges and is professor of legal studies. His research focuses on law and economics; land-use, natural-resource and environmental economics; and property rights.

Patricia Duffy, professor in the agricultural economics and rural sociology department, is serving as the interim chair of the department through February 2019.

Related Articles