Brantley, DeVries to receive 2015 Spirit of Sustainability Awards

Two College of Agriculture faculty members are among the five individuals and two groups selected as recipients of Auburn’s 2015 Spirit of Sustainability Awards. The awards will be presented in a ceremony Wednesday, April 22, at 3:30 p.m. at Ag Heritage Park’s Farmers Pavilion. 

Eve Brantley, associate professor and water resources specialist in the Department of Crop, Soil and Environmental Sciences, and School of Fisheries, Aquaculture and Aquatic Sciences professor Dennis DeVries were chosen based on their motivation and commitment to sustainability, the impact of their work and the degree to which they engage and involve others in their efforts.

Brantley was cited for her outstanding accomplishments in stream restoration using natural channel design, stormwater management and treatment, watershed management planning and water quality. DeVries’ selection was based primarily on his strong, multiyear commitment to teaching several courses required in Auburn’s sustainability minor.

Other 2015 Spirit of Sustainability Award recipients include Carlie Bullock-Jones, a 1999 College of Architecture, Design and Construction alumna and founding and managing principal of Ecoworks Studio in Atlanta; the university’s Campus Kitchens Project, which distributes food that would otherwise be wasted to in-need individuals and families in the community; Glenn Loughridge, Campus Dining director and proponent of locally sourced foods; Jaimen Perez, a senior in economics and leader in the Auburn Real Food Challenge; and Rural Studio, a design-build program that is a partnership between architecture, design and construction and Hale County communities.

The Auburn University Spirit of Sustainability Awards program began in 2013 and exists to recognize Auburn students, faculty, staff and alumni who exemplify the Auburn spirit by making significant contributions toward sustainability on campus or in their community.

Related Articles