Outstanding Commitment to
Diversity Award

About the Award

The Outstanding Commitment to Diversity Award, an annual award, was established to honor full-time faculty, staff and administrative-professional employees who have exhibited outstanding commitment to diversity in their performance, service and collegiality in the workplace.


All full-time faculty, staff and administrative-professional category employees in the College of Agriculture who have been employees at least one year in a regular, continuing appointment by December 31 of the award year are eligible to be nominated. One award of $1000.00 is given to an individual, team or co-nominees. Recipients of the award will not be eligible again for a period of two years. Current members of the Diversity Awards Committee are not eligible.


The recipient of the award will demonstrate a commitment to diversity in the workplace by developing programs that have an impact on diversity. This will include working on behalf of diverse populations, representing diverse perspectives, and collaborating with co-workers, and other campus groups. Award winners should develop programs that are inclusive of diverse cultural backgrounds and perspectives of students, co-workers, staff, faculty and visitors to the College of Agriculture.

Evaluation is by the Diversity Awards Committee, comprised of members of the College of Agriculture Diversity Committee.


One award of $1,000.00 is given to the individual, team, or co-nominees and is presented at the College of Agriculture Employee Awards program.

*The award is disbursed following university policy and taxable according to IRS guidelines.


An application for the Outstanding Commitment to Diversity Award shall be completed in its entirety along with two letters of support for the nominee from faculty, staff or students from the College of Agriculture or the surrounding community (one letter must be from the College of Agriculture) by the established deadline. Late or incomplete application packets will not be considered. The employee may be nominated by any employee (faculty or staff).

The completed packets will be evaluated by the Diversity Awards Committee through a confidential process. The Dean will have the final approval.

Visit Ag Hill

Comer Hall, College of Agriculture's Ag Hill, Auburn University, Alabama USA on a spring day with flowers blooming.

Visit Campus In-Person or Virtually!




Awards & Fellowships


Awards Timeline


COA Facts


Mission Statement


Non-Discrimination Statement


Timeline & History