Dean’s Grantsmanship Award

About the Award

The College of Agriculture has established the Dean’s Grantsmanship Awards to reward the great effort faculty members make to be successful in obtaining extramural grants and contracts and to inspire faculty to devote greater efforts to enhancing research in the college.


All faculty members (tenured, tenure-track, and non-tenure-track) with instructional appointment are eligible. Department Heads/Chairs, the Dean, and Associate Deans are not eligible.

Recipients of this award will not be eligible for this award for the next two years, but will become eligible again after two years.


The sole criterion for the Dean’s Grantsmanship Award of the Year is the accumulative total dollar amount of extramural grants/contracts brought in by a faculty member serving as principal investigator (PI) or co-principal investigator (co-PI) officially awarded during the fiscal year (October 1 to September 30).

The total dollar must be $250,000 or more in competitive extramural awards in response to standard Request for Applications (RFAs) from nationally or regionally recognized funding agencies/organizations, or extramural awards with a minimum indirect costs (i.e., Facilities and Administrative costs) rate of 15%. Subcontract dollar amount to Auburn University will be counted toward the total of the PI/co-PI from Auburn University. Congressional support (earmarks), gifts and state support in the form of special grants or line items do not qualify.


The Dean’s Grantsmanship Award of the Year will be made annually at the College of Agriculture awards program in December.

The winners will receive a certificate recognizing this accomplishment. In addition, the top three winners with the highest total dollar amount of qualified competitive extramural funding (as defined above) will each receive a cash award of $1000.00.

*The award is disbursed following university policy and taxable according to IRS guidelines.


The grant/contract award information will be obtained from the Office of Sponsored Programs and the total dollar amounts will be ranked with principal investigator. The sources and nature of funding will be examined to exclude congressional earmarks, line items or special grants, and verified with respective department heads/chairs. 

Upon verification of grants/contracts, the Associate Dean for Research will make a recommendation of candidates for the award to the Dean. The Dean will make the decision on the award recipients.

Visit Ag Hill

Comer Hall, College of Agriculture's Ag Hill, Auburn University, Alabama USA on a spring day with flowers blooming.

Visit Campus In-Person or Virtually!




Awards & Fellowships


Awards Timeline


COA Facts


Mission Statement


Non-Discrimination Statement


Timeline & History