Dean’s Award for Excellence in
Extension & Outreach

About the Award

The Dean’s Award for Excellence in Extension and Outreach to recognize a faculty, non-tenure-track faculty or staff in the College of Agriculture who demonstrate outstanding service and scholarship through Extension and outreach programs. The Extension or outreach programs should address important issues and have significant social or economic impact. The College is especially interested in recognizing program efforts that utilize creative and innovative approaches to reach the intended audience.

The Dean’s Award for Excellence in Extension and Outreach IS NOT intended to be a career award.


Faculty members in the College of Agriculture who have active Extension or outreach programs are eligible for this award. All tenure non-tenure track faculty or staff who have a minimum of three years of service at Auburn University are eligible for this award. The nominated faculty and staff members need not necessarily have an Extension appointment.


The nominations will be reviewed by an ad hoc committee consisting of the Team Coordinators of the Extension Priority Teams in agriculture. The review committee will also include prior recipients. The Assistant Director for Agriculture, Forestry and Natural Resources of the Alabama Cooperative Extension System and Associate Dean for Extension will serve as the ex officio chair of the committee. In the event of a tie vote, the chair will cast the tie-breaking vote.


One recipient will receive a plaque and cash award of $1000.00.

*The award is disbursed following university policy and taxable according to IRS guidelines.


Nominations may be made by any faculty member in the College of Agriculture and may include self-nominations. The nomination should include:

  • A submission letter that includes a paragraph describing the Extension or Outreach program’s social or economic impact.
  • A one-page summary of the Extension or Outreach program prepared by the nominee.
  • A copy of the CV for the nominee(s).

Visit Ag Hill

Comer Hall, College of Agriculture's Ag Hill, Auburn University, Alabama USA on a spring day with flowers blooming.

Visit Campus In-Person or Virtually!




Awards & Fellowships


Awards Timeline


COA Facts


Mission Statement


Non-Discrimination Statement


Timeline & History