Now reading
Faculty members appointed, reappointed to endowed professorships

Faculty members appointed, reappointed to endowed professorships

Auburn College of Agriculture plant pathology associate professor Leonardo De La Fuente has been awarded the Entomology and Plant Pathology Faculty Endowed Professorship in the Department of Entomology and Plant Pathology and Department of Horticulture head and professor Dave Williams reappointed as the Elbert A. and Barbara L. Botts Endowed Professor in Horticulture, College of Agriculture Dean Paul Patterson announced in late 2016.

Both appointments are for three years, subject to annual review.

De La Fuente was selected for the endowed professorship in his department in recognition of his strong commitment to students and the high quality of his research, teaching and service programs. He has served on the faculty at Auburn since 2008.

Entomology and plant pathology faculty members established the professorship in 2010 to encourage and reward excellence in the department. De La Fuenta succeeds department head and entomology professor Nannan Liu, who fulfilled two three-year appointments in the position.

Williams, who was awarded the inaugural Elbert A. and Barbara L. Botts Endowed Professorship in Horticulture in 2013 when the endowment was fully funded, was reappointed to a second term. Williams is an Auburn Department of Horticulture alumnus who joined the faculty in 1991.

Elbert “Burt” Botts was a 1950 Auburn horticulture alumnus who was a highly successful nurseryman in Augusta, Georgia, and, with his wife, was instrumental in establishing the State Botanical Garden of Georgia in Athens and the Augusta Botanical Gardens.

Jamie Creamer

Specialist III, Comm & Marketing
3 Comer Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849