Student Awards Programs

Top students in the College of Agriculture are eligible for the following awards, which are usually presented at the conclusion of spring semester.

To search for awards and nomination dates view the College of Agriculture Awards Timeline.

2019 Student Awards Program

Student Awards

Claude Hardee Memorial Award

Recognizes an outstanding senior student in the college based on scholarship, leadership and character. Individuals are nominated by their department head.

CLub Advisor of the Year

The Club Advisor of the Year Award recognizes the club advisor within the College of Agriculture whose outstanding service and contributions to the club, the college, and Auburn University exceeds the expectations given to advisors. The selected individual demonstrates a high level of commitment to the club they advise, and they play a central role in assisting club members to reach their highest potential.


The Club of the Year Awards Program recognizes those clubs within the College of Agriculture that promote themselves, the college, and Auburn University; exhibit outstanding achievements by club members;  and demonstrate a willingness to help coordinate activities that are sponsored by the College  of Agriculture and Ag Council.

Comer Medal for Excellence

Awarded annually to an outstanding senior who maintains either the best examination or best class record in this branch of their studies. Three medals are awarded: a) the Comer Medal for Excellence in Agricultural Sciences; b) the Comer Medal for Excellence in Biological Sciences; and c) the Comer Medal for Excellence in Physical Sciences. The Comer Medal is the longest running, continuously awarded student recognition at Auburn University. The first award was made in 1924 by Governor B.B. Comer. Notable recipients have included E.T. York and ONeal Smitherman. It is awarded at spring semester graduation.

Dean’s Award for Academic and Professional Excellence

Presented to a graduating senior, who has demonstrated leadership and service to the college and exhibited excellence in scholastic accomplishment, and is selected by the college scholarship committee and the associate dean. It is awarded each semester at graduation.

Joel Hardee Award

Awarded each spring the outgoing Ag Council President.

Novus International Research Award

Novus International Inc. established the Novus International Research Award at Auburn University to recognize and reward graduate students for research excellence in one or more areas of animal nutrition, metabolism, growth and development or health and disease.

Outstanding College of Agriculture & SGA Student Awards

Awarded to a student who is a junior or senior and has completed a minimum of 55 percent of all credit hours at Auburn University; has a grade point average in the top 10 percent of his or her school or college; and exhibits involvement in college/school activities, university activities, community service, leadership and/or professional/career potential.  Students may be chosen by the Dean’s Office, academic affairs, or scholarsip office, but not by other students.  The student selected for this award also receives the SGA Outstanding Student Award.

President’s Award

Recognizes the outstanding graduate in each school or college who has completed at least three semesters at Auburn University with a minimum scholastic average of 3.40, and who exhibits outstanding qualities of leadership, citizenship, character and promise of professional ability. It is awarded at spring semester graduation.

Student Graduation Marshal

Student Marshals, selected by a school/college awards committee, have distinguished themselves by service to their school or college. To be considered, students must have completed a minimum of four semesters at Auburn University with a scholastic average of 3.40 (graduating Cum Laude) or higher and possess qualities of leadership, citizenship, character, and promise of professional ability. It is awarded each semester.