Global Programs Working Groups

Cuba Working Group

Auburn University has a long history of partnering with Cuban universities beginning more than thirty years ago in the areas of plant science, nematology and plant pathology. With the recent leadership changes in Cuba, Auburn saw the opportunity to establish close cooperation in research, instruction and outreach with Cuban universities and agencies. In the last five years, several meetings were held between Auburn College of Agriculture faculty and Cuban scientists within and outside Cuba. This long-term relationship resulted in the signing of a formal broad trilateral treaty for cooperation.

 

OUR CUBA WORKING GROUP

 
default avatar
Patricia Donald
TES Professional CE
209 Life Sciences Building
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
(334) 844-5003
default avatar
Kate Thornton
210 Spidle Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
(334) 844-1339
Arthur Appel
Arthur Appel
Professor
Entomology & Plant Pathology
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-2562
Photo of Henry Fadamiro
Henry Fadamiro
Associate Dean for Research; Associate Director, AAES; Alumni Professor
107 Comer Hall
Auburn University, AL 36849-5401
334-844-8727
Photo of Eve Brantley
Eve Brantley
Professor and Extension Specialist (Water Resources)
238 Funchess Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-3927
Joseph Giambrone, Auburn University Poultry Science Professor
Joseph J. Giambrone
Professor
301E Lem Morrison Drive
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-2642
Photo of Martin O'Neill - Cuba Partnership
Martin Anthony O’Neill
Schulze Professor & Dept Head of Nut. Diet. & Hosp. Mngt.
328D Spidle Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
(334) 844-3264
default avatar
Onikia N. Brown
Extension Specialist Assistant Professor
102A Poultry Science Bldg
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-3161
Photo of Elizabeth Guertal
Beth Guertal
Professor
263 Funchess Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-3999
Joe-Kemble-headshot-20190919
Joe Kemble
Extension Specialist Professor
170 B Funchess Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-3050
Ken Macklin
Extension Specialist & Professor
260 Lem Morrison Drive
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-4225
David W. Held
Professor
301 Funchess Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-3818
Amit Morey
Assistant Professor
260 Lem Morrison Drive
202-E Poultry Science Building
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-8480
Photo of Thorsten Knappenberger
Thorsten J. Knappenberger
Assistant Professor
255 Funchess Hall
Auburn, AL 36849
334-844-3997
Alana L. Jacobson
Assistant Professor
301 Funchess Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-5011
Photo of Kathy Lawrence
Kathy Lawrence
Professor
Dept. of Entomology & Plant Pathology
209 Life Science Building
Auburn Univ., AL 36849
334-844-1956
Brenda V. Ortiz
Professor and Extension Specialist (Precision Ag)
226 Funchess Hall
Auburn University, AL 36849
334-844-5534
Joey N. Shaw
Professor
212 Funchess Hall
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-3957
Rodrigo Rodriguez-Kabana
Distinguished Univ Professor
Entomology & Plant Pathology
Auburn Univ, AL 36849
334-844-1976
Edward J. Sikora
Extension Specialist Professor
153 ALFA Services Building
Auburn Univiversity, AL 36849-5624
334-332-7433

Auburn University/AAES is proud to partner with several Cuban institutions including Agrarian University of Havana (UNAH), Centro Nacional de Sanidad Agropecuaria (CENSA), Pasture and Forage Research Institute – Indio Hatuey, Soil Institute of Cuba and Instituto de Investigaciones de Sanidad Vegetal (INISAV). Below is a listing of key collaborators at these institutions.

Agrarian University of Havana (UNAH)

Institutional Contact*
C. Pedro Pablo del Pozo Rodríguez, Vice Rector (delpozo@unah.edu.cu)
Mabelin Armenteros Amaya (rel_int@unah.edu.cu)

Vegetable Production and Protection
Nilda Perez Consuegra (gisela.barro@infomed.sld.cu)
Orestes Cruz (orestes@unah.edu.cu)
Carlos Gonzales (carlos@unah.edu.cu)
Ivan Castro Lizaso (ivanc@unah.edu.cu)
Yanoy Morejon
Tania Perez (tania@unah.edu.cu)
Marlen Robaina (robaina@unah.edu.cu)
Heriberto Vargas (vargas@unah.edu.cu)

Turfgrass Management
Arturo Martinez

Animal Science
C. Pedro Pablo del Pozo Rodríguez, Vice Rector (delpozo@unah.edu.cu)
Pavel Herrera (pavel_herrera@unah.edu.cu)
Miguel Pérez

Land Use/Modeling
Gustavo Alonso (gustavo@unah.edu.cu)
Orestes Cruz (orestes@unah.edu.cu)
Yanara Rodríguez López (yanita@unah.edu.cu)
Arturo Martinez
Darielis Martinez
Annia Garcia Pereira (annia@unah.edu.cu)
Tania Perez (tania@unah.edu.cu)
Ernesto Ramos (carbajales@unah.edu.cu)
Marlen Robaina (robaina@unah.edu.cu)
Heriberto Vargas (vargas@unah.edu.cu)

Centro Nacional de Sanidad Agropecuaria (CENSA)

Institutional Contacts*
Leopoldo Hidalgo Diaz (lhidalgo@censa.edu.cu)
Tania Rivas (tania@censa.edu.cu)

Vegetable Production & Protection
Maria de los Angeles Martines (maria@censa.edu.cu)
Benedicto Martinez (bmcoca@censa.edu.cu)
Yamila Martinez (yamila@censa.edu.cu)
Ileana Miranda (ileanam@censa.edu.cu)
Oriela Pino Perez (oriela@censa.edu.cu)
Belkis Peteira (bpeteira@censa.edu.cu)
Madelaine Quinonez (mqperez@censa.edu.cu)
Mayra Rodriguez (mrguez@censa.edu.cu)
Moraima Suris (msuris@censa.edu.cu)

Turfgrass Management
Leopolgo Hidalgo Diaz (lhidalgo@censa.edu.cu)
Madelaine Quiñonez (madeqp@censa.edu.cu)
Mayra G. Rodriguez (mrguez@censa.edu.cu)

Urban Pest Management
Oriela Pino Perez (oriela@censa.edu.cu)
Mayra G. Rodriguez (mrguez@censa.edu.cu)

Animal Science
Pastor Alonso (alfonso@censa.edu.cu)

Land Use/Modeling
Ileana Miranda (ileanam@censa.edu.cu)

Pasture and Forage Research Institute – Indio Hatuey

Institutional Contact*
Luis Hernandez (luis@ihatuey.cu)

Turfgrass Management
Luis Hernandez (luis@ihatuey.cu)

Land Use/Modeling
Maybe Campo 

Soil Institute of Cuba

Institutional Contacts*
Luis Gómez Jorrín, Director (director@isuelos.co.cu)
Olegario Muñiz Ugarte (olegariomuniz@isuelos.co.cu)

Instituto de Investigaciones de Sanidad Vegetal (INISAV)

Institutional Contacts*
Dr. Berta Lina Muiño Garcia – Subdirector of Development (bertam@inisav.cu)
Evangelina Roa – International relations (eroa@inisav.cu)

* Contact for more information about institution and to identify researchers in specific fields.