Dean’s Award for  Excellence in Extension and Outreach


The purpose of this award is to recognize faculty, non-tenure track faculty, or staff in the College of Agriculture who demonstrate outstanding service and scholarship through Extension and outreach programs.  The Extension or outreach programs should address important issues and have significant social or economic impact.  The College is especially interested in recognizing program efforts that utilize creative and innovative approaches to reach the intended audience. The Dean’s Award for Extension and Outreach has two categories: The Dean’s Extension and Outreach, Junior, and the Dean’s Extension and Outreach Award, Senior.  

All assistant professors, associate professors or non-tenure track faculty or staff who have been at Auburn for fewer than eight (including eight) years are eligible for the Dean’s Extension and Outreach, Junior Award. Associate professors or non-tenured faculty and staff who have been at Auburn for more than eight years and professors are eligible for the Dean’s Extension and Outreach, Senior Award.



Faculty members in the College of Agriculture who have active Extension or outreach programs are eligible for this award.  The nominated faculty and staff members need not necessarily have a formal Extension appointment. Individuals or teams of faculty members are also eligible to be nominated. Teams may include members from other colleges. However, leadership for the team must be demonstrated by a College of Agriculture faculty or staff member.



Nominations may be made by any faculty member in the College of Agriculture and may include self-nominations.  The nomination should include the following:

  • A submission letter prepared by the nominator that includes a paragraph describing the Extension or Outreach program’s social or economic impact;
  • A one-page summary of the Extension or outreach program prepared by the nominee;
  • A copy of the CV for the nominee(s).



The nominations will be reviewed by an ad hoc committee with a representative appointed by each department head or chair in the College of Agriculture.  The department heads/chairs should select faculty representatives familiar with Extension and outreach programs.  The review committee will also include prior recipients.  The Assistant Director for Agriculture, Forestry and Natural Resources of the Alabama Cooperative Extension System and Assistant Dean for Extension will serve as the ex officio chair of the committee.  In the event of a tie vote among departmental representatives, the chair will cast the tie-breaking vote.



$2,000 in program support and a plaque noting this accomplishment will be given to the awardee(s). If a team of faculty members is selected, the total program support  of $2,000 will be equally split among the team members, but each team member will receive a plaque.  The team members will be recognized at the annual College of Agriculture award program.

Nomination Form