Dean’s Award for Excellence in Extension and Outreach


The purpose of this award is to recognize faculty, non-tenure track faculty, or staff in the College of Agriculture who demonstrate outstanding service and scholarship through Extension and outreach programs.  The Extension or outreach programs should address important issues and have significant social or economic impact.  The College is especially interested in recognizing program efforts that utilize creative and innovative approaches to reach the intended audience. The Dean’s Award for Extension and Outreach has two categories: The Dean’s Extension and Outreach, Junior, and the Dean’s Extension and Outreach Award, Senior.  

All assistant professors, associate professors or non-tenure track faculty or staff who have been at Auburn for fewer than eight (including eight) years are eligible for the Dean’s Extension and Outreach, Junior Award. Associate professors or non-tenured faculty and staff who have been at Auburn for more than eight years and professors are eligible for the Dean’s Extension and Outreach, Senior Award.

Nomination Form


Faculty members in the College of Agriculture who have active Extension or outreach programs are eligible for this award.  The nominated faculty and staff members need not necessarily have a formal Extension appointment.


Nominations may be made by any faculty member in the College of Agriculture and may include self-nominations.  The nomination should include the following:

  • A submission letter prepared by the nominator that includes a paragraph describing the Extension or Outreach program’s social or economic impact;
  • A one-page summary of the Extension or outreach program prepared by the nominee;
  • A copy of the CV for the nominee(s).


The nominations will be reviewed by an ad hoc committee consisting of the Team Coordinators of each of the Extension Priority Teams in agriculture.  The review committee will also include prior recipients.  The Assistant Director for Agriculture, Forestry and Natural Resources of the Alabama Cooperative Extension System and Assistant Dean for Extension will serve as the ex officio chair of the committee.  In the event of a tie vote,  the chair will cast the tie-breaking vote.


A plaque noting this accomplishment will be given to the awardee.  The winner of this award will be recognized at the Annual College of Agriculture Award Program.